Riding Dirty? No – Running Geeky!

Posted: June 14, 2010 in Gear, Shoes

Let’s get this out of the way.

I don’t run.

Anyone who runs more than 100 yards, and isn’t being chased by an angry bear, is insane.

That being said, my wife took up the sanity-challenged sport a couple of years ago and I have been deeply jealous of her gear ever since she started.  I’ve even taken to the treadmill a few times in the hopes that some latent spark of running love would be ignited.

Even with the full-series box set of Buffy The Vampire Slayer and a swank pair of bluetooth headphones waiting for me at the treadmill, I didn’t last more than a few days.

However, while accompanying her on her semi-annual gearing up for new shoes (amazing how fast 500 miles goes when you’re training), I came across a pair of Vibram FiveFingers Bikilas.  It was then that I started the Great Rationalizing Process.  

Me: Oooooh! Want!
Also Me: You don’t run.
Me: It’s not that I don’t like to run.  It’s that I don’t have the right gear to run the way I want to run!  
Also Me: You’re an idiot.

Since then, I’ve convinced myself that, yes, despite the fact that I loathe cardio and running, I will become a barefoot runner!

I plan on failing spectacularly.

Comments
  1. Adam says:

    By failing well you’ll end up with a stress fracture. In summation – you’ll shoot your eye out.

Leave a Reply

