Run #15: A New Goal Has Entered the Arena…

Posted: August 2, 2010 in Gear, Running

Ah-HA! Noelle reminded me that she did a great 4-miler last year around this time. It was a “cross-country” run…which in Sarasota means that you’re going to go cavorting across well-manicured golf courses. Still, it’s off road (which I really prefer) and it’s 4 miles (which I consider to be the upper limit of my “run without embarrassing myself and my kin” range). And, hey, some of the divots are pretty nasty; it could be a dangerous course!

Had a solid 2.7 mile run out at Rothenbach. Love that park; but damn if it wasn’t insanely humid out! Granted the giant dark storm clouds and constant thundering should have clued us in that humidity was going to be a slight issue tonight. Was joined by Val who was kind enough to slow it down to my meandering 13 minute mile pace. As much consternation as I have over running with people (because, you know…damn slow), it was really nice having someone to chat with and keep my mind off the fact that a minute lasts about 10 hours when you’re counting down to a walk interval.

Speaking of counting down – my lovely wife was kind enough to give me an early birthday present! Noelle got me an Adidas Fitness Control watch at Fit2Run so that I could move my interval timing from Runkeeper (which is a great program, but way too intrusive for short intervals) to my wrist. After poring over the manual for about 30 minutes (I am in awe of manuals that are seemingly written in plain English, but still impart no actual knowledge to the reader), I was able to program in a 2/3 walk/run interval. Worked like a charm (and it’s sharp looking – I got the one w/ the black & red band, which they seem to have discontinued; pity). So early birthday present which I can torture myself with…

Next time I take up a hobby it’s going to involve beer…or chocolate…or bacon…or maybe all three.

Comments
  1. Valerie says:

    We are going to have to work on running that route twice in less than an hour for the 4-mile race…Good goal to have I think…

  2. Sounds like a good plan to me! Though we need to figure out a time when it’s not so flippin hot! I downed a liter of water before we even got home!

Leave a Reply

