Welcome to the 2011 Race Season!

Posted: August 22, 2011 in Running
Tags: , , ,

Made it through the summer and the leisurely beach runs (which were some of the hardest, fastest “leisurely” runs I’ve ever done). Manasota Track Club is amazing for putting them on and giving me weekly reasons to stay off my ass and train!

But with the beach runs done, I have to fill the void with a new goal, lest I slide back into my sedate ways. For my birthday, I had Noelle get me a registration for the PAL half in November. That should fit the bill nicely.

So how did I kick off my new training schedule? With a vigorous 5-mile run? With a few hours of weights? Nah. I did a half hour of yoga.

There’s a method to my madness. First, it’s damn hard yoga (even if it was from a DVD – sorry, Karma!). Second, I’m coming off a disappointingly lite training week and don’t want to run without stretching things out first. Third, Higdon’s plan calls for today to be a cross-training day, so I might as well take advantage of a guilt-free “no-run” day! So no miles today, but one training session ticked off. Countdown has begun!

Mileage: 0.0
Weeks to Race: 14

Leave a Reply

